New museum announces biennial award for sculpture by female artists

The New Museum in New York today revealed that it is inaugurating a new biennial award for sculpture, especially for women artists. The award is funded by a $ 2 million grant from the Hostetler Wrigley Foundation and will allow the creation of new works by five recipients over a ten-year period; these will be on display in the public square of the new museum, which is being built on the Bowery.

“This award recognizes and builds on the New Museum’s legacy in advocating for women artists,” said Lisa Phillips, Director of the New Museum. “We are deeply grateful to administrator Sue Hostetler Wrigley and Beau Wrigley for this generous donation which will allow us to further support the creation of new works by some of the best artists working today.”

The museum will announce the jury for the inaugural award, which will be known as the Hostetler / Wrigley Sculpture Award, early next year; the first commission will be unveiled at the end of 2022.

“Beau and I are delighted to create this award to recognize and honor exceptionally talented contemporary women artists,” said Sue Hostetler Wrigley. “Supporting and celebrating the important achievements of women artists, which have always been overlooked, and making art as public as possible, are two of the core missions of our foundation. Our intention is that the award will also help continue the critical conversation on parity for women. Collaborating with the New Museum, an institution that shares our philosophy of ambitious and innovative approaches and our drive through equal opportunities, is the perfect partnership.

The award comes in the wake of the unionization of staff at the New Museum after a turbulent period that saw the institution accused of exploiting workers, which it has denied doing.


Source link

Previous Freeport Art Museum celebrates public art with new downtown sculpture
Next Modernism as an agent of change in literature

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *